5 Comments
Jun 4, 2021Liked by David Muccigrosso

3. US v Cooley. Using my expertise from watching Netflix's Longmire (yes, really) Indian Sovereignty cuts both ways. There is a bright line that prevents US law enforcement from going into Indian sovereign land to investigate- unless both LEO's, white and Indian have agreed to cooperate. So even though dude was obviously "high" - also not the most important issue with Cooley, jeez - thus no investigation. However, I didn’t yet read the case and ruling yet...I need substack lessons to argue further. So, I should download the app on my PC so I can open other tabs and read and argue at the same time.

But again, I highly recommend Longmire - it really dives into issues like this, despite the odd fact that a small, reservation town in Wyoming manages to have one murder each week :)

Expand full comment

Question on Garland v Ming dai - it is generally agreed upon that the equal protection clause apply to everyone in the US regardless of citizenship status? Seems like that isn’t settled law.

Expand full comment